Cannes 2017 - Winners Announced!

After weeks of speculation, the results are finally in.....

The 2017 Palme D'Or has been awarded to The Square, directed by Ruben Östlund and produced by Erik Hemmendorff. The Jury Prize was won by Andrei Zvyagintsev for his film Loveless and Léonor Serraille won the Camera d'Or for her debut feature Jeune Femme. Yorgos Lanthimos and regular co-writer Efthimys Filippou were awarded Best Screenplay for UK co-production The Killing Of A Sacred Deer, an accolade shared by Scottish director/writer Lynne Ramsay for UK film You Were Never Really Here, starring Joaquin Phoenix who was awarded Best Actor for his role.

The Full List of Winners:

Caméra d’Or 

  • Jeune Femme (Montparnasse-Bienvenüe) (dir: Léonor Serraille)

Best short film

  • A Gentle Night (dir: Qiu Yang)

Best screenplay

  • The Killing of a Sacred Deer (dir: Yorgos Lanthimos) 
  • You Were Never Really Here (dir: Lynne Ramsay)

Jury prize

  • Loveless (dir: Andrei Zvyagintsev)

Best actress

  • Diane Kruger, In the Fade (dir: Fatih Akin)

Best actor

  • Joaquin Phoenix, You Were Never Really Here (dir: Lynne Ramsay)

Best director

  • Sofia Coppola, The Beguiled

Grand Prix

  • 120 Beats per Minute (dir: Robin Campillo)

70th Anniversary prize

  • Nicole Kidman

Palme d’Or

  • The Square (dir: Ruben Östlund)